Christmas Date in the current year: December 25, 2018

Christmas December 25 is Christmas Day, that is observed by Christians and even non-Christians. This holiday has different names (Noël, Xmax, Yule, Nativity) and it unites billions of people around the world in a religious and cultural celebration.

There are numerous celebratory customs that differ from country to country. It is a special mix of pre-Chrisitan, Christian and secular themes and origins. Gift giving, completing Advent calendar, caroling, church services, special meal and Christmas decorations are the most common modern customs. Santa Claus, Saint Nicholas, Christkind and Father Christmas are closely related to Christmas and often interchangeable figures who bring presents and gifts to children during the Christmas season.

Christmas is first of all a religious holiday and Christians celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ. Attendance of church service is the most important and popular tradition. Christmas trees decorating derives from the religious custom that appeared in the 15th century in London. It stated that every house had to be decorated at Christmas with hold, ivy, bays and whatsoever the season of the year afforded to be green.

Traditional Christmas colors are red, green and gold. Red symbolizes the blood of Jesus, green stands for eternal life and gold is for one of the three gifts of the Magi.

Remind me with Google Calendar


Religious Holidays


Eland, Albania, American Samoa, Andorra, Angola, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bolivia, Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba, Bosnia Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, British Virgin Island, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Christmas Island, Cocos Islands, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Colombia, Cook Islands, Ivory Coast, Costa Rica, Cuba, Curacao, Cyprus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, El Salvador, Ecuador, Estonia, Eritrea, Falkland Islands, Finland, Fiji, Faeroe Islands, France, French Polynesia, French Guiana, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Grenada, Greenland, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guam, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Guernsey, Guyana, Vatican City, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Jersey, Jordan, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Latvia, Lesotho, Lebanon, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Madagascar, Malta, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Marshall Islands, Martinique, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Montserrat, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, New Caledonia, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Norfolk Island, Northern Mariana Islands, Norway, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Pitcairn Islands, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Reunion, Rwanda, Romania, Saint Barthelemy, Saint Helena, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Pierre et Miquelon, Saint Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Sint Maarten, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Korea, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Spain, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Syria, Thailand, Tanzania, Togo, Tokelau, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, Uganda, United Kingdom, USA, Uruguay, American Virgin Islands, Vanuatu, Venezuela, State of Palestine, Wallis and Futuna, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Ukraine


christmas, christmas day, religious holiday, catholic church