Old New Year Date in the current year: January 14, 2018

Old New Year The Old New Year, also known as the Orthodox New Year, Serbian New Year and Julian New Year, is an informal traditional holiday in some countries. It is the start of the New Year by the Julian calendar which falls on January 14 in the Gregorian calendar.

Although the Gregorian calendar was officially adopted in all European countries, some Orthodox churches (namely the Russian Orthodox Church, the Serbian Orthodox Church and the Macedonian Orthodox Church) still follow the old Julian calendar.

Therefore in some countries the New Year is celebrated twice by both calendars. January 1 is a public holiday whereas January 14 is an unofficial holiday. It is known as the Old New Year in former republics of the USSR, Macedonia and Bulgaria. In Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Montenegro it is usually called Serbian New Year.

In Russia and other Post-Soviet states the Old New Year is usually less festive than the New Year. It is a somewhat nostalgic family holiday. In some regions secular traditions of celebrating the New Year are combined with the Orthodox Christmas customs.

In Serbia it is celebrated in a similar way as the New Year on January 1. Many cities organize concerts, fireworks, celebrations. In Macedonia people gather outside their houses, start huge bonfires, eat, drink and sing together.

Remind me with Google Calendar


Unofficial Holidays, Folk Festivals


Ukraine, Russia, Belarus, Bosnia Herzegovina, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Romania, Montenegro, Serbia, Macedonia


Old New Year, informal holidays, folk festivals, unofficial holidays, Serbian New Year