Satellite Awards

Satellite Awards
The Satellite Awards are annually given by the International Press Academy to honor the artistic excellence in the areas of cinema, television, radio, and new media. The awards were inaugurated in 1997 as the Golden Satellite Awards.

The International Press Academy (IPA) is an association of professional entertainment journalists. It represents both American and foreign markets. The Academy was founded in 1996 and began to recognize achievements in the fields of motion pictures, television and new media through its Satellite Awards a year later. The awards were originally named the Golden Satellite Awards but the word “Golden” was dropped from the name in 2005.

The Satellite Awards were originally conceived as an alternative to the Golden Globe Awards given by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association so the categories of the two awards are somewhat similar (except for the new media categories which the Golden Globes don't have). As of 2016, there are 19 categories for motion pictures, 13 categories for television shows/films/series, 7 categories for DVD/Blu-Ray titles, and 5 categories for video games. Each group of categories has its own eligibility terms but one condition is universal: all submissions must have been released between January 1 and December 31 of the qualifying year.

The International Press Academy also gives a number of Special Achievement Awards. For instance, the Nicola Tesla Award is given to recognize visionary achievements in filmmaking technology. Past recipients include James Cameron, George Lucas, Walter Murch, and others. The Mary Pickford Award is given to honor outstanding artistic contribution to the entertainment industry. Previous winners include Susan Sarandon, Michael York, Kathy Bates, Jodie Foster, Francis Ford Coppola, etc. The Auteur Award recognizes individual voices of filmmakers and their personal impact on the industry. The Humanitarian Award reflects special achievements.

The award ceremony is held every February at the InterContinental Hotel in Century City, Los Angeles, California. The ceremony takes place during the culmination of the annual film awards season, not long before the Academy Awards.

Satellite Awards





Related Articles