Saturn Awards

Saturn Awards
The Saturn Awards are presented annually by the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films. It rewards films and television series belonging to genre fiction, which first and foremost includes science fiction, fantasy and horror.

The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films was founded in 1972 by film historian Dr. Donald A. Reed in order to facilitate the advancement of science fiction, fantasy, and horror in film, television, and home video. Prior to establishing the Academy, Dr. Reed was the head of an intimate social group of authors, actors and filmmakers, who would get together and discuss classic film releases and Gothic literature.

Once the Academy was established, an annual award show was introduced to honor the best in science fiction, fantasy and horror film and television. Originally named the Golden Scroll Award, it was later renamed the Saturn Award. To match the name, the trophy represents that planet Saturn, with its rings composed of film.

Dr. Reed created the Saturn Awards because he felt that work in genre films lacked recognition within the established award system of the Hollywood film industry. Although the situation has changed since then and now science-fiction and fantasy movies win major awards not only in the visual effects department, the Saturns still remain a coveted award in their niche.

The Saturn Awards are presented in five groups of categories: Film, Television (introduced in 1994), Home Video (introduced in 2001), Live Stage Production (introduced in 2016) and special awards. The winners are selected by members of the Academy by voting. Special awards presented at the ceremony include the George Pal Memorial Award, the Life Career Award, the President’s Memorial Award, the Special Recognition Award, and the Breakthrough Performance Award.

As of 2018, individuals with the most awards include filmmaker James Cameron (11 wins), actress Anna Torv (4 wins), and composer John Williams (9 wins). The film with the most awards is Avatar (11 wins) and the TV series is Lost (13 wins).

The Saturn Awards ceremony is held annually in California. It usually takes place in late June.

Saturn Awards

Photo: Albert L. Ortega/WireImage




Related Articles