Primetime Emmy Awards

Primetime Emmy Awards
Photo: ATAS / NATAS,
The Emmy Award is the most prestigious American award that recognizes excellence in the television industry. It corresponds to the Academy Award for film, the Grammy Award for music, and the Tony Award for theater. The Emmys are presented in a number area-specific ceremonies held throughout the year. The ceremony that receives the most media coverage is the Primetime Emmy Awards held in September.

The Emmy Award was created in 1949 by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (ATAS), a professional organization that focuses on the advancement of the television industry in the USA. The first Emmy Awards ceremony was held on January 25, 1949. It was a local event that honored shows produced and aired in the Los Angels area. The Emmys were expanded into a national event in the 1950s.

The Daytime Emmy Award was established in 1974. To avoid confusion, the “main” award was renamed the Primetime Emmy Award. Besides, there are several area-specific awards, such as the Sports Emmy Awards, the News & Documentary Emmy Awards, the Primetime Engineering Emmy Awards, the Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards, the International Emmy Awards, and the Regional Emmy Awards.

The Emmy statuette was designed by Louis McManus, a television engineer, film editor and designer. It depicts a winged woman holding an atom. According to McManus, the statuette is meant to emphasize that television is a combination of art and science. The winged muse represent art, the atom symbolizes science.

The name of the award was inspired by the term “immy” that is commonly used for the image orthicon tube, a type of video camera tube that was common in American broadcasting from 1946 until 1968. It was later changed to “Emmy” to match the female statuette.

As we’ve already mentioned above, the Emmys are presented in a number of area-specific categories throughout the year by three separate organizations: the ATAS, the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, and the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

The Primetime Emmy Awards receive the most media coverage. The ceremony is held every September, typically on the Sunday before the official start of the fall television season. The Primetime Emmy Awards are broadcast by one of the four major networks (ABC, CBS, Fox, NBC). The awards are presented in three categories: the Primetime Emmys, the Primetime Creative Arts Emmys, and the Primetime Engineering Emmys.

In 2020, the event was held online due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Primetime Emmy Awards





Related Articles