Bihar Day in India Date in the current year: March 22, 2024

Bihar Day in India Bihar Day (Bihar Diwas or Bihar Sthapana Diwas) is celebrated in the Indian state of Bihar on March 22. On this day in 1912, the province of Bihar and Orissa was formally separated from the Bengal Presidency.

Bihar is located in eastern India. It borders the Indian states of Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal, as well as Nepal. Bihar is probably most famous for its connection to Buddha Shakyamuni, the legendary founder of Buddhism.

During the Vedic period, the territory of what is now Bihar was dominated by several ancient kingdoms, such as Anga, Kikata, Magadha, and Videha. They are mentioned in the Vedas, as well as in the two major Sanskrit epics of ancient India, the Mahabharata and the Ramayana. In the late Vedic period, sixteen monarchies and oligarchic republics collectively known as the Mahajanapadas co-existed in the region: Anga, Assaka, Avanti, Chedi, Gandhara, Kashi, Kamboja, Kosala, Kuru, Magadha, Malla, Machcha, Panchala, Surasena, Vriji, and Vatsa.

In the 5th century BC, the Magadha Empire ruled by the Shaishunaga dynasty became the dominant power in the region. The Shaishunaga dynasty was later succeeded by the Nanda dynasty and then by the Maurya dynasty. Following the decline of the Maurya Empire, it was replaced by the Gupta Empire. Historians consider the rule of the Gupta dynasty as the Golden Age of India.

In the Middle Ages, the region fell into decay, which was exacerbated by Muslim raids. In the 16th century, Bihar and Bengal were conquered by the Mughal Empire. However, in 1764, the combined armies of the Mughal emperor and the rulers of Bengal and Awadh lost the Battle of Buxar to the East India Company. As a result, vast territories previously controlled by the Mughal Empire, including what is now Bihar, fell under English control.

Under the British Raj, the region was known as the Bengal Presidency. By the beginning of the 20th century, the territory of the presidency was so enormous that it was extremely hard to administer. In 1905, the colonial authorities attempted the first partition of Bengal. However, it proved highly controversial and was reversed in 1911.

During the 1911 reorganization of Bengal, it was decided to create two new provinces: Assam Province and Bihar and Orissa Province. The province of Bihar and Orissa was officially separated from the Bengal Residency on March 22, 1912. The anniversary of this event is now celebrated as Bihar Day.

Bihar Day was officially established in 2010 during the tenure of Chief Minister Nitish Kumarh. The first celebration took place on March 22, 2011. Every year the Government of Bihar issues an official proclamation declaring March 22 a public holiday. On Bihar Day, all government offices and schools, as well as most private companies in Bihar are closed.

Bihar Day is marked by concerts, sports competitions, exhibitions, and other programs and events dedicated to the rich culture and history of Bihar. Outside the state, the holiday is celebrated by Bihar natives living in other states of India and abroad.

Remind me with Google Calendar


Anniversaries and Memorial Days



Bihar Day in India, holidays in India, holidays in Bihar, Bihar and Orissa