Education Freedom Day Date in the current year: March 21, 2019

Education Freedom Day Education Freedom Day is a special international event launched by the Digital Freedom Foundation in 2013. It's annually observed on March 21.

The Digital Freedom Foundation is responsible for establishment of four international events: Software Freedom Day, Hardware Freedom Day, Culture Freedom Day and Education Freedom Day. The very last event is aimed to educate people around the world about the benefits of using free software and free educational resources for education. This holiday also provides people an opportunity to learn more about the running international projects and encourage to participate in them.

Originally Education Freedom Day was observed on January 17, but the date had to be changed due to some local incompatibilities, like Chinese New Year or summer holidays. March is one of the months of the year when schools are not closed for seasonal holidays, that's why the date was moved to this month.

All events of Educational Freedom Day are organized by the Digital Freedom Foundation, however, the organization encourages the volunteers from around the world to register their own activities or events to impact their communities.

Remind me with Google Calendar


International Observances


education freedom day, digital freedom foundation, international observance