Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards

Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards
The Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards are given by the Nickelodeon television network to honor the year’s biggest movie, television, and music acts, as voted by Nickelodeon viewers. The first awards show was held in 1988.

In 1986, Nickelodeon launched a show called The Big Ballot. To vote for their favorite actors and musicians, kids sent in ballots. Before the show, these ballots were counted and the winners taped a thank you video that was shown during the program. Nickelodeon producers Fred Seibert, Albie Hecht and Alan Goodman felt that this concept could develop into something bigger and more exciting so they decided to transform it into a full-fleged awards show.

The first Kids’ Choice Awards (KCAs) were held in 1988. Originally, the viewers voted by phone, mailed ballots or filled them out at Pizza Hut locations. As the Internet came into widespread use in the mid-2000s, the voting moved to Nickelodeon’s website and text messaging. In 2010, mobile browser voting and an iPhone application was also added. The voting is open to U.S. and Canada citizens. However, some countries host their own Kids’ Choice Awards.

The trophy represents the awards logo, an orange blimp. The logo was created by Scott Nash and Tom Korey and was used as a network logo from 1984 to 2009. The awards trophy is a hollow figurine which can be used as a kaleidoscope. Unlike traditional awards show, the Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards uses unusual items such as balloons, T-shirts and stickers to announce winners rather than traditional envelopes.

The annual awards ceremony is held in late March or early April in and around Southern California. Past venues include Pauley Pavilion on the campus of UCLA, Barker Hangar of Santa Monica Airport, the Hollywood Bowl, the Grand Olympic Auditorium, and Universal Studios. From 2015 onward the show has been held at the Forum in Inglewood, California.

During the show, several celebrities are slimed (covered with the network’s trademark green slime) onstage or offstage. The sliming prank has originated from Nickelodeon’s program You Can’t DO That on Television. At the KCAs it is meant as an honor rather than a humiliation. Celebrities that have been slimed include Queen Latifah, Rosie O’Donnell, Tom Cruise, Pink, Mike Myers, Johny Depp, Nicole Kidman, Orlando Bloom, Harrison Ford, and others.

In 2020, the ceremony was held virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Kids’ Choice Awards




Related Articles