Local Government Day in Poland Date in the current year: May 27, 2024

Local Government Day in Poland Local Government Day (Dzień Samorządu Terytorialnego) in Poland is observed on May 27. Like most other holidays declared by statute or a resolution of the Sejm of the Republic of Poland, it is a working day unless it falls on a weekend or coincides with a public holiday such as Pentecost or Corpus Christi.

The reform of local (also known as municipal or territorial) government in Poland began in 1990, following the collapse of the socialist regime. The present-day three-level local government system fully emerged in 1999.

The principal unit of the administrative division and local government in Poland is the gmina (community or municipality). There are three types of the gmina: urban gmina, rural gmina, and mixed urban-rural gmina. The second-level unit of local government and administration in Poland is the powiat (county, district or prefecture) and the third (and the largest) unit is the voivodeship (province).

Major cities normally have the status of both gmina and powiat, which allows them to solve all major local government tasks. The jurisdiction of the voivodeships includes higher education, science and research, healthcare, local roads, environmental policy, and the creation of a favorable investment climate.

The first elections to local government in Poland were held on May 27, 1990. The anniversary of this event is now celebrated as Local Government Day. The holiday was officially established by the Sejm in 2000.

Remind me with Google Calendar


Professional Days



Local Government Day, holidays in Poland, observances in Poland, holidays declared by the Sejm