Constitution Day in Sint Maarten Date in the current year: October 14, 2024

Constitution Day in Sint Maarten On the second Monday of October, the citizens of Sint Maarten, a small island country in the Caribbean, celebrate Constitution Day. This public holiday was established to commemorate the day when the current Constitution of Sint Maarten entered into force.

Sint Maarten occupies the southern part of the divided island of Saint Martin. It is a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Before October 10, 2010 Sint Maarten was part of the Netherlands Antilles, along with Bonaire, Curaçao, Saba and Sint Eustatius (Aruba also used to be part of the Netherlands Antilles but became a separate member of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in 1986).

Between 2000 to 2006, each island of the Netherlands Antilles held a referendum on its future status. According to the results of these referendums, the Netherlands Antilles was split into two constituent countries, Sint Maarten and Curaçao, and three special municipalities (Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba), collectively known as the Caribbean Netherlands.

On July 21, 2010 the island council of Sint Maarten unanimously adopted the Constitution of Sint Maarten that reflected the country’s new status. It entered into force on October 10, 2010, on the date of the dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles.

The Constitution Day in Sint Maarten was created to commemorate the adoption of the constitution. Its main goal is to educate local residents about their rights as the citizens of Sint Maarten and as voters.

Remind me with Google Calendar


Public Holidays



Constitution Day in Sint Maarten, holidays in Sint Maarten, public holidays, Netherlands Antilles