Independence Day in Guyana Date in the current year: May 26, 2018

Independence Day in Guyana The Cooperative Republic of Guyana annually observes Independence Day on May 26. This holiday celebrates the anniversary of declaration of independence from Great Britain in 1966.

Guyana was discovered by Christopher Columbus in 1489, but the Dutch were the first to establish there their three colonies: Essequibo, Berbice and Demerara. The British assumed control over the Dutch colonies in 1796, but the territory was formally ceded only in 1814. During the British rule Guyana became known as British Guiana.

Guyana took first steps towards its independence in the beginning of the 20th century. For instance, in 1926 the first constitution was adopted and a local legislative council was created. In 1950 People's Progressive Party of Guyana was formed, that became a ruling party in 1964. Finally British Guiana gained independence from Great Britain on May 26, 1966. It remained a member of the Commonwealth. In 1970 it changed its name to the Cooperative Republic of Guyana.

Remind me with Google Calendar


Public Holidays




independence day in guyana, holidays in guyana, british guiana, public holiday