Independence Day in Paraguay Date in the current year: May 14, 2018

Independence Day in Paraguay The independence of Paraguay from Spain was declared on May 14 and 15, 1811 after a bloodless revolution led by José Gaspar Rodríguez de Francia. Paraguay Independence Day is a public holiday celebrated for two days.

The first Europeans to set foot in the area that is now known as Paraguay were the Spanish in 1516. The first settlement in this area, Asunción, was founded in 1537. Asunción eventually became the nucleus of a Spanish colonial province of Paraguay. In 1542, the province became part o the Viceroyalty of Peru.

The authority of the Viceroyalty of Peru over Paraguay was nominal, and Paraguay was notorious for its continual revolt against the Spanish crown. There were constant tensions between settlers and colonial authorities.

The Napoleonic Wars weakened the ability of Spain to maintain control over its American colonies. Taking advantage of this situation, Paraguay overthrew the Spanish administration on May 14 and 15, 1811. The anniversary of this event is celebrated as Paraguay Independence Day.

Independence Day events include but are not limited to parades, concerts, fireworks, barbecues. The most colorful parade is held in the city of Asunción, the capital and largest city of Paraguay. Some people wear traditional clothes on the occasion.

Remind me with Google Calendar


Public Holidays




Independence Day in Paraguay, Paraguay Independence Day, holidays in Paraguay, public holiday